Blogging my running and family life

I’ve decided to start a new blog. The title refers to my running and that is going to be a major topic here, but I think I’ll also use this as a place to brag about my family. I chose WordPress as it had a well reviewed app for my iPhone. It will be a bit of an experiment at first to see how the posts work from my phone.

Day 1: Today’s run was a tempo on the treadmill. I’m training for a couple half-marathons this spring, the first will be a B race as it often has inclement weather. I’m loosely following the ‘Own It’ plan from the book Train Like a Mother. Loosely because I’m just 5 months postpartum and prone to injury. As for today, it was a tempo, 1 mile wu, 2 mile tempo @ 7.0 mph (5:20/km) and a 1 mile cd.

Picking training paces has been a bit random as I have no idea of what I’m currently capable of. I had some huge PR’s right before I got pregnant with Olivia, but honestly doubt my ability to ever match them again. I have calculated some training paces based on a 2 hr half marathon and will work with those for the time being.

I spent my morning today with Maiya at her Gymboree music class. I would have had no idea that she was even paying attention, except that she was running around singing songs from class tonight. I also put Olivia in the jolly jumper for the first time in a while. She doesn’t quite know what to make of it yet, but it is fun to have her interacting and playing more.

20130221-212625.jpg

One thought on “Blogging my running and family life

  1. Heather H

    Nice start to your blog Terry! Looking forward to following it, and reading about your awesome running and racing this year will bring!

Leave a Reply

