Why I run…

The obvious answer is that I run because I love it. I do love it.

I have been thinking more about this lately. Sometimes in the middle of a long run when my legs feel heavy or my stomach isn’t feeling well, I forget that I love running and that I’m doing this of my own free will because I want to. I’ve been trying to keep the thought that I love this and I’m out here because I want to be in my forethought so that I don’t get negative thoughts when I’m struggling or having a hard run. There are so many people who want to run but can’t, who struggle to get miles in. I passed a man running today who had a foot that was disfigured and turned sideways. He was running. I get caught up in my own physical flaws, I have had my share of injury, but this man and many more have it much harder than I do.

Some of the best advice I’ve heard for someone wanting to get into shape, is to find something that you enjoy and do that. It doesn’t matter what it is, but make sure you enjoy what you are doing. You are much more likely to stick with an activity if it is one you enjoy.

I don’t really know where I’m going with this post except to say that I’m thankful that I can run and despite the hard runs I love this sport 🙂

Leave a Reply

