Foodie Friday: Pizza Night!

Tonight was pizza night at our house! Yum 🙂 We had pizza last Friday night as well, from our favorite Italian pizzeria, tonight I went scratch made. This is how I do scratch pizza …..

First I mix up the dough. Basically it was 1 1/2 cups warm water, a couple tsps of yeast, a palm full of salt, a tbsp of sugar and half white/whole wheat flour until it pulled away from the mixer.

Then I chop up all the toppings. We had peppers, onions, mushrooms, pepperoni, leftover BBQ chicken breast, pineapple, tomato, sauce and cheese of course!!

20130510-194233.jpg
Now that the toppings are ready to go, preheat the oven to 425. I have pizza stones that I cook my pizza on. I find it makes the crust nice and crispy. I put the pizza stones in the oven to preheat also.

I roll the dough out to approximately the size and shape of the stones. Now comes the hard part! Get the stone out of the oven and put it on the counter next to the rolled dough, then transfer the dough to the stone. It never transfers perfectly. I always just pull and straighten it out once it’s on the stone.

20130510-194541.jpg
Once you’re happy with the dough on the stone, start piling toppings on. Anything goes!!

20130510-194643.jpg
Next it goes in the oven for 30-45 minutes. It all depends on how thick your toppings are. Cook until the cheese is nice and browned and the cheese is browned.

20130510-194819.jpg
Finally enjoy!! Olivia particularly enjoyed the pizza tonight, finishing off two small pieces by herself!!

20130510-195040.jpg

Leave a Reply

