It’s Taper Time!!

Lori and I ran a 8k (5 mi) tempo run this morning, it was our LAST hard workout before SeaWheeze on August 10th!!  It was a hard run, but a good run, and it upped my confidence (which in turn ups my level of freaking out).  

For comparison sake, 10 ish days before my last half (Calgary), I did the same workout.  My splits for that workout were as follows: 

4:45, 4:59, 5:00, 4:59, 4:51, 4:45, 4:47, 4:55 (4:53 avg)

My splits from today’s tempo were:

4:31, 4:39, 4:37, 4:30, 4:35, 4:40, 4:43, 4:43 (4:37 avg)

My finish time for Calgary was 1:48:35.  That was about what my backwards tempo calculations on McMillan predicted.  This time, my backwards calculations from today’s race would predict a sub 1:44 time!!??!  WHAT? 

I’ll talk about my goals in another post closer to race time, but I’m getting very excited (read: scared to death) for this race!!

3 thoughts on “It’s Taper Time!!

Leave a Reply

