Marathon experiment #1.

There’s nothing like running a marathon that makes you over analyze details is there? C’mon, you’ve done it too, right? What pace should I start at, what should I do the first half in, what should I use for fuel, what should I wear??? Well all these kind of questions have been starting to go through my head lately. My marathon is feeling closer than ever lately! I have 3 big long runs left and then it’s taper time.

My big question today was on pacing. I was hitting up some of my favorite running moms for advice on pacing today and the discussion got me thinking. Maybe I should use some of the fancy features from my expensive GPS that I run with. How many of us went out and paid $200+ for a fancy device that can do everything but run the race for us. If you’re like me, then you’ve used about 10% of it’s features, basically just tracking distance pace and time. That leads me to experiment #1. I’ve made a course for tomorrow’s long run (29 km’s) and have uploaded it to my garmin. It has a pace associated with it (6:10/km) and a map.
So that’s the experiment. I will report back tomorrow with how it went, and I’ll also do a detailed post on how I got the route onto my garmin.
Have you used any of the fancy features on your garmin or gps watch? What are you currently obsessing over?

One thought on “Marathon experiment #1.

  1. Pingback: Marathon Experiment #1 – Garmin Courses | Terry's Blog

Leave a Reply

