The BEST Christmas cookie! At least it’s my family’s favorite…

I finally had some time to do some baking for Christmas today.  I don’t do a lot of baking, mostly because I don’t want to weigh 300 lb’s, and I don’t run nearly enough to support all the yummy things I would love to bake.  It’s Christmas though, and we all need to indulge a little every once in a while.  This is my all time favorite Christmas treat, it’s a cookie that my mom always made at Christmas.  Chocolate Shortbread!  It’s seriously the best recipe for Chocolate Shortbread ever, so if you’ve tried others, you have to try this one.  Here it is:

Chocolate Shortbread
3/4 cup softened butter
1 cup chocolate chips
1-1/4 cup icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup ground nuts

Preheat the oven to 250 degrees F.  Melt the chocolate chips (I use the microwave, but be careful to not burn them).  In a large bowl, cream sugar, butter and vanilla.

20131221-191834.jpg

Blend in the flour and salt.  Add melted chocolate and nuts; mix well.

20131221-191849.jpg

Here is what it looks like all mixed together.

20131221-191859.jpg

You can shape them into flattened balls or crescents, or use a cookie press.  I used a cookie press, and experimented with different shapes.

20131221-191913.jpg

You can see that I made puppies and stars, I also made camels (these didn’t work well), Christmas trees and butterflies.

20131221-191929.jpg

After you’ve shaped all your cookies, cook them in a 250 degree oven for 30 minutes.

20131221-191947.jpg

After they’re done, let them cool just a few minutes on the cookie sheets, and then transfer them to a wire rack to cool.  They are very flaky and are a bit delicate when they are warm, so be careful.

You can add a glaze at this point.  To make the glaze combine 1 cup of melted chocolate chips and 2 tbsps of shortening.  I did not put the glaze on mine, because they are delicious just as they are.

20131221-191953.jpg

What is your favorite holiday treat?

Leave a Reply

