A review of 2013 in numbers (and pictures)…

I can’t help it, I’ve got a form of OCD that requires me keep track of numbers.  I allow myself to go crazy with the numbers in my running, and it helps me to let go in other areas of my life.  Here are some numbers (with some of my favorite pictures from the year) to summarize 2013.

Lori and I at the Calgary Boston Strong run.  The Boston bombings rocked the running community but we're stronger than ever!!
Lori and I at the Calgary Boston Strong run. The Boston bombings rocked the running community but we’re stronger than ever!!

2350.9 km’s run.  I went into 2013 just a few months postpartum after having Olivia, and set my goal at running 2013 km’s in 2013.  I hit this goal sometime back in November I think, and am thrilled with how far I’ve surpassed it.  This number is especially meaningful because it means that I’ve been very consistent with my running over the year.  I haven’t taken more than a few days off at a time, and have had no major injuries to deal with.

The Calgary Police Half, my first race of the year, and first post-Olivia race!
The Calgary Police Half, my first race of the year, and first post-Olivia race!

7 races run.  This includes the following: The Police Half Marathon, The Calgary Marathon, SeaWheeze half, The Blitz Duathlon (and the Olds Mud Run), The Grizzly Ultra Relay, and the Seattle Marathon.  I know there are tons of people who run more races than this, but this felt like a lot to me.  I find it difficult to not go all out in every.single.race, which is not only physically difficult but I also find it very mentally draining.  I was also supposed to run the Moose Mountain 10 mile trail race in August, but it was cancelled due to the Alberta floods and damage to a bridge.  I’m trying to decide what I want to do in 2014, and will be posting about goals, but I’m thinking I may do fewer races this coming year.

Lori and I ran as many trails as we could this year!
Lori and I ran as many trails as we could this year!

4:04:20.  My new full marathon PR!  This is my favorite number from the year.  Even though I think I was/am capable of running a faster marathon, that was all I had to give on that day, and it was a huge improvement, so I’m completely satisfied and thrilled with the number.

The hubby and I post marathon!
The hubby and I post marathon!

2. Number of my 6 pack abs you can see in the morning if I flex.  Sorry no pictures here 😉 .  Seriously though, I feel really good about how my body looks right now.  I’ve worked my ass off this year and am in really good shape.  I also like to eat and to drink, a lot.

The Grizzly ultra relay was a race highlight for sure!!
The Grizzly ultra relay was a race highlight for sure!!

0. Number of toenails I lost.  I always wonder if people who lose toenails from marathons are just wearing the wrong shoes or size?  I have no idea, I wear size 8 street shoes, but size 9.5 running shoes.  I’m pretty happy that my nails are not falling off because that does not sound pleasant.

And lastly Maiya, my 3 yr old ran her first race this year!  I have no idea if she'll have my passion for running, but I'm happy to emulate an active lifestyle for her and Olivia.
And lastly Maiya, my 3 yr old ran her first race this year! I have no idea if she’ll have my passion for running, but I’m happy to emulate an active lifestyle for her and Olivia.
9 thoughts on “A review of 2013 in numbers (and pictures)…

  1. Let’s try this again 🙂 Good for you for tracking your mileage over 12 months. I am horrible when it comes to turning on my Garmin and remembering to bring it sometimes 🙂 Your daughter is adorable! The Seattle Marathon and the Grizzly Ultra are on my to do list. Maybe this year….. I lost toenails when I ran this super downhill trail race… mainly because my shoes were too small & the friction was just way too much for them.

    Sounds like you had a great 2013! Here’s to a healthy and active 2014!

    1. Glad you got the comment to work!!

      I’m so anal about my garmin, I never ever run without something to track distance, I use my phone for a backup if my garmin is dead. I err way to far on the need to track every step front!

  2. Pingback: A review of 2013 in numbers (and pictures)… « theexsaffa's Blog

  3. Wow, sounds like you had a great fitness year with many inspiring accomplishments. Maiya running her first race is so sweet! The Grizzly Ultra looks absolutely stunning… I might have to add it to my list. Here’s to many more accomplishments and good health in 2014!

  4. Pingback: Blog-a-versary, a favorite thing, and a long run | Terry's Blog

Leave a Reply

