2014 Goals and ramblings…

I’ve sorta been putting this post off, and I don’t really know why.  2013 was a great year, and I think I’m a little nervous about setting ambitious goals for 2014 and having it not measure up.  I put a lot of pressure on myself and need to relax a bit (ok maybe a lot!).  For now, I’m just going to make this post about the next 5 months, that’s where I have my sights right now anyway.

That was a bit of a downer opener, wasn’t it?  Sorry… I don’t want this to be a downer post, because I’m not feeling down about anything at all.  SO I’ll switch things over right here and now, because I’ve got exciting news!  I have been selected by The Calgary Marathon as one of their ambassadors!!  I am seriously excited… I’m thrilled that they picked me, and that it will give more people a chance to read my ramblings about this training cycle, and even more excited that I’m going to get to virtually and in real life meet some of the local Calgary running/blogging/social media people!  All the information about all the ambassadors (aka #SCMForeRunners) is HERE.  We are all going to be blogging, and posting about our training for various race distances.  I would encourage you to check all the ForeRunners out, and follow their journeys.

I am registered and excited to be running the full marathon!  It’s my 3rd marathon, and I’m diving in right after the Seattle marathon, so am pretty stoked to see where it’s going to take me.  My running partner, Lori and I are training together again, and this time, she’s running the race too!!  It’ll be her first marathon, and I’m very excited to run it with her.  The plan is that we will run it together, and hopefully come in sub 4 hrs!

We are going to be following a plan from Greg McMillan’s new book, “You Only Faster”.  It’s a 12 week plan, so that leaves us lots of time until the actual marathon plan starts.  We are planning to do 2 of his modules in prep for the actual training cycle.  We’ve just started the first of these this week, and it’s a speed module.  I’m really excited for this month because it’s been a while since I’ve tried to run anything faster than a tempo pace.  This first week is pretty chill.  We did a 6 km steady state run on Tuesday (that’s a bit slower than tempo pace), and today was 12×1 min on/off fartleks.  Next week we actually get to do a speed workout, and we might even pony up the cash to go run at an indoor track!

So there ya go… the goals so far for 2014, run the Calgary Marathon.  I’m also definitely signing up for the Police Half in April, but the weather that weekend is such a crap shoot, that I won’t make any goals until a week ahead when I can see a forecast.  I’m going to wait to make a fall goal based on how this marathon goes…

I’m going to finish up with  some of the ways you can follow my training, because I think there are some new followers here…

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/terryrunsthings

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TerryToffelmire

Instagram: http://instagram.com/terryruns

Bloglovin: <a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/10260833/?claim=f2a6jw4ubbr”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

8 thoughts on “2014 Goals and ramblings…

  1. It’s my third mara too. I am filled with excitement, read, worry, a tangle full of stuff. I figure if i let go of all the setting aggressive time goal stuff i will be better off an RELAX and have fun and feel better about it all. Maybe its the weather thats making me feel this way 🙂

    1. Never been very good at keeping goals but hopefully things will go to plan this year.. I entered a random competition and won a Garmin 210 now to be able to get out and test drive it:) So this should give me the incentive to run as often as possible and also keep up with my cross training. I need to get some speed work and indurance in. I have my first marathon in March. I’m looking forward to ,it will be my first half in a good few years.

    2. I think I’m the most relaxed about this marathon, than the other two – partly because I just did Seattle, so it’s fresh, I know what I’m in for, plus I’m planning on pacing it at my RP’s pace, so it feels less daunting than a PR or BQ attempt.

  2. Pingback: Me … Only Faster, So Far | Terry's Blog

Leave a Reply

