Me … Only Faster, So Far

I thought I’d do an update post on where I am in my current training cycle.  If you remember in my 2014 Goals and ramblings post, Lori and I are following a plan from the Greg McMillan book, You Only Faster.  We are currently in the middle of a 4 week Speed module.    It’s been 2 years (before I was pregnant with my daughter Olivia) since I’ve done any real speed work, so this has been a bit of a shocker for my body!  Here’s a quick summary of what kind of workouts I’ve done in the lasts 3 weeks:

Week 1:

  • SS: 6 K (Steady State)  I did a 2k WU, and then 6k of Steady State with these splits:  5:13, 5:11, 5:15, 5:18, 5:10, 5:06.  It was an outside run in the snow.  My goal pace would have been 5:00-5:12 w/o snow, so I was very happy with those paces in the snow.
  • Easy: 40-60 minutes  Ran for 55 minutes on the treadmill.  Trying to get used to running these easy runs for time and not distance.
  • FR: 12-15 x 1 min on/1 min off (Fartlek)  Met Lori at the gym and we did a 10 min WU, and then 1 min on and off Fartleks.  It was a good run, and it’s amazing how fast the treadmill time goes by when you’re changing your speed every minute.
  • Easy: 50-60 minutes  I did a 50 minute run outside.  This run was a very good example of why running for time can be good!  There was a ton of fresh snow, and my pace was so slow, but my effort was high, it was nice to just have to go for so long and then be done regardless of how far I’d gone.
  • LR: 90-105 minutes  We had decided when we made up our plan to use this week as a cutback week.  We were pretty happy for that cutback this morning since the temp in Lori’s car showed it as -30 C when we started this run!  We ended up running less than 12 k, good enough.

Week 2:

  • LS 10-12 x 30 sec w/ 1 min jog (Leg Speed)  This run ended up being on the treadmill also.  It was cold out and I also wanted to Strength Train afterwards.  Did my sprints at 8.5 mph.  The big negative to doing these quick intervals on the treadmill is that it takes 10 seconds or more for the treadmill to get up to speed.  
  • Easy: 40-60 minutes  Moved this run to after the Speed Work below, so took it really easy as my legs were really tight from the 800’s.  I’ve really noticed over the last 6 months that I can recover and run, sometimes just going for a super easy run to get the blood flowing makes my legs feel better.
  • SP:  6 x 800 m w/400 m jog (Speed Work)  Met Lori at Mount Royal University for this workout.  We did 2 km’s WU, and then 800’s, alternating who was in the lead and in control of the pace.  It was interesting to notice that for both of us, when the other was in the lead, the speed felt much more difficult.  Our splits were:  3:23, 3:27, 3:35, 3:32, 3:35, 3:31.
  • Easy: 50-60 minutes  55 minutes easy in Fish Creek.  I discovered that my Newtons have horrible traction and are not good on slippery snow.
  • LR:90-105 minutes  16 km long run.

Week 3:

  • Easy: 40-50 minutes  Easy 50 run on the treadmill.
  • Easy: 40-60 minutes  Easy 8km run from Eau Claire after the Calgary Marathon route reveal.  You know that the next workout is serious because there are 2 easy days scheduled before it!
  • SP: 4-5 x 1 Mi w/ 600-800 m jog  This was a tough one!  Mile Intervals.  I ran this one outside near the river, and there were some icy sections.  My goal paces were 7:22-7:34/ mile, actual paces were 7:41 (icy), 7:36 (pretty good conditions), 7:31 (nailed it!), 7:38 (tired + slightly uphill + people dodging = not bad).  I would have liked to have them all within the goal zone, but given the conditions, I’m happy.  I was sore for days after this, especially my quads and back!  I obviously worked it.
  • Easy: 50-60 minutes  #megsmiles run with my hubby in Fish Creek.  Both our kids were at grandparent’s houses, so I got to run with Tim.  I was very grateful to get to run with him, and to have such a great supporter in my life and running.
  • LR: 90-105 minutes  Long run of 18 km’s with Lori.  Parts of the path were super slippery.  I was really feeling the increased mileage (I haven’t run  more than 50 km’s in a week since I peaked for the Seattle marathon back in early November), and the mile repeats.  The last few km’s of this long run was on tired legs, but we still finished it strong.

I took a rest day today after our long run yesterday, and my legs are actually feeling really strong, with no niggles or injuries, YAY!!!

So there you go, there’s a quick summary of my running over the last 3 weeks.  If you want to see my workouts daily, feel free to go to my Dailymile page, and follow me!  We have this week left in the speed module, and then next week we’re on to hills!  These 4 week modules are kind of fun so far, the month goes by fast, and then you have a new focus with a different kind of workout to focus on.  Has anyone else used the McMillan book?  I’d love to hear about any other experiences.

2 thoughts on “Me … Only Faster, So Far

Leave a Reply

