Soup-er Sunday

The first thing that was super about today is that it was Sunday Runday!  Lori and I met and ran 20 km’s.  It was much cooler today than yesterday, but just -9 C, so not too bad.  The pathways around the reservoir were in fairly good shape, but we ran up to, and into Fish Creek for just a km or so before we turned around, and it was a skating rink!  We were very glad to have our spikes with us as we put them on our shoes so that we could get down the hill without falling.  My major goal today was to NOT fall, and I’m happy to say GOAL REACHED!

This afternoon I whipped up a pot of soup.  I had done the same last weekend, and it was great to have a bunch of leftovers for the week that we could take to work for lunches.  I have a feeling that we won’t have many leftovers from the soup tonight!  I thought I’d share the recipe:

Quinoa Corn Chowder

3/4 cup quinoa (rinsed)
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 red onion, chopped
1 tbsp Olive Oil
4 slices bacon, chopped
1 red pepper
1 lb baby potatoes
2 1/2 cups corn, fresh or frozen
3 tbsp fluor
1/2 tsp ground cumin
pinch of red pepper flakes
Salt and Pepper
4 cups chicken stock
1 cup whole milk or cream
lime and cilantro
 
In a frying pan brown the quinoa and cumin seeds until the quinoa is nicely browned (3-4 minutes).  
 
20140126-172700.jpg
 
In a large soup pot, in the Olive Oil brown onion, bacon, red pepper and baby potatoes.  I just added them into the pot as I chopped them.
 
20140126-172709.jpg  
 
Brown until the vegis are soft and the bacon cooked.  Add the flour and spices and cook for a couple minutes.  Mix the quinoa and cumin seeds into the vegis.  Add the chicken stock.  Cook for 30 minutes or until the vegis and quinoa are all soft.
 
20140126-172650.jpg 
 
Add the milk or cream and heat through.  Serve with a squeeze of lime and a sprinkle of fresh cilantro.
 

20140126-172623.jpg

5 thoughts on “Soup-er Sunday

  1. Looks yummy! I haven’t had corn chowder since I was a child 🙂 I used my slow cooker last week for the first time in ages to make a bean soup. I have enough soup for two weeks! lol Glad you had a good run. My goal in the winter is always to not fall 🙂

Leave a Reply

