Sunday Runday, a Soup recipe, and finding time to blog…

It seems as if it’s been FOREVER since I’ve blogged… and I guess that’s because it has been.  I know there are a lot of bloggers out there who do a great job of writing nearly every day, or at least a few times a week.  The question was asked in a group of bloggers I’m a part of last week, “How do you schedule, or plan out your blog posts?”  Well the truth is, I really don’t.  I write when I have time, and when something inspires me.  I’d love to write more, but I have a lot of things in my life that trump blogging; family, work, running…. just to name a few.  I do love sharing my journey though, and have really enjoyed what this blog has become, so I’ll continue to write when I can. 

20140209-170332.jpg
One of my very best distractions!!!

What have I been up to?  Well Lori and I are 2 weeks into our month of hill training.  So far it’s going great!  The last week of training has been especially good.  Here’s what I did:

Monday:  2 miles easy on the treadmill, then strength training.

Tuesday: 8x500m hill repeats.  Lori and I ran the Sicome hill in and out of Fish Creek.  It was -32*C with the windchill, and was brutally cold.  Then more strength training at the gym afterwards.

Wednesday: 8 km’s recovery on the treadmill

Thursday: Just over 8 km’s with 12 30 second strides.  I did this run outside (because I’m a little sick of all the treadmill runs), and it was challenging getting my pace up on the paths, they are in pretty good condition, but not perfect.

Friday: REST DAY 🙂

Saturday: Easy 10k on the treadmill

Sunday: 20 km long run.  We met up with a friend of Lori’s from high school, and all of us got busy chatting, and ended up running this way faster than our normal long run pace.  My legs felt great!!

20140209-170344.jpg
It’s hard not to be tired of winter, but then I get out and enjoy the sunshine, and LOVE running in any conditions 🙂

Total mileage: 60 km’s!  I also ran 6 days this week, which is new for me.  I’m trying to get my base up to around 60+ km’s per week this month, so am trying out a 6th easy day to help bump that up.

This afternoon after our long run I decided to whip up a pot of soup like I’ve been doing most Sunday’s this month.  We’ve really enjoyed the soups, and they’ve made for great lunches (when we haven’t gobbled up the whole pot on Sunday).  Here’s today’s:

Sausage, Quinoa and Sweet Potato Soup:
 
1 lb Sausage (I had some Farmer’s Sausage in the Freezer I used up, but Italian would work great also)
1 Onion, Chopped
2 Stalks Celery, Chopped
2 Cloves Garlic, Chopped
1 Sweet Potato, Cubed
2 Carrots, Chopped
1 cup Quinoa
4 cups Chicken Stock
2 cups Water
dash Cayenne Pepper
1 tsp Basil
1 tsp Oregano
Salt and Pepper
2 Tbsp Flour
1 cup Whole Milk
Grated Cheese
 
Brown the sausage, onion, garlic and celery.  When the sausage is cooked and the onion and celery soft, add the sweet potato and carrots.  Cook for a couple of minutes, and then add the quinoa.  Pour the stock and water into the vegi’s.  Add the herbs, and salt and pepper to taste.  Cook for 30 minutes, or until the sweet potato is soft and quinoa cooked.  Mix the flour and milk together (I use a tupperware with a good lid and shake them to combine).  Add this mixture to the soup.  Serve with grated cheese.
 
YUM!!
YUM!!
 
How many days a week do you run?

If you blog, do you have a schedule, or just go with the feel, and the time you have in the moment?

3 thoughts on “Sunday Runday, a Soup recipe, and finding time to blog…

  1. Your babe is adorable in the hat 🙂 Glad to hear everything is going well with your training so far. Hopefully my schedule works out soon so I can join you and Lori one Sunday for a run 🙂

  2. That’s a solid training week in very cold weather! Your daughter looks like a natural in that Calgary Marathon ‘in training” toque! So adorable. Soup looks yummy, I’ll have to add it to my list.

Leave a Reply

