My Favorite Things, and a chance to share them!

So every year I do one race that involves raising money.  This is something that always feels a bit awkward, I don’t like pestering people for their hard earned money.  But I still do it, every year.  Why?  Because it’s a GREAT cause, and it is absolutely worth my feeling a bit uncomfortable while supporting it.  Plus, it’s such a FUN race, that I love doing it!!  It is called The Underwear Affair, and it raises money for finding a cure for cancer’s below the waist.  Everyone dresses up in some of the best costumes ever (their underwear) and they go walk or run 5 or 10 km’s.  If you are local to Calgary, you really should check out this race!

So where do my favorite things come into play here?  Well, I’ve contacted some of my favorite companies, companies who’s products I already use and love, and asked them if they’d be interested in participating in a giveaway to benefit this awesome cause.  I’ve been amazed at how many have responded by donating product!  I’ve decided that I should profile these products and companies in the weeks leading up to the race (on June 8th), so you can see why I love them, and see the kinds of things you might be able to win!  I’m still working out the details, and will do an official post closer to the race day, but the giveaway will be open to people who donate to my fundraising page.  Each $20 donation will get you one entry (you don’t have to do separate donations, I’ll just divide the total by $20).  For anyone who donates now, their donations will count towards the draw, just make sure you use a valid email address when you do so.

For now, I give you company #1!  BICBANDS

20140211-194410.jpg

I’ve been wearing BicBands for a couple years now, and LOVE their headbands.  Evidenced by my collection 🙂  In the summer, I always wear one when I run, and often when I’m not.  I love how stylish and cute the patterns are.  Don’t tell my work colleagues, but occasionally, if I don’t have time to fix myself up after a lunch run, I’ll just put a headband in and head back to my desk!  They don’t budge an inch once I have them on, and don’t hurt or give me a headache.

20140211-194402.jpg

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Things, and a chance to share them!

  1. Pingback: Blog-a-versary, a favorite thing, and a long run | Terry's Blog

  2. Pingback: Warm weather, Marathon training is on AND I’ve got a cold!! | Terry's Blog

  3. Pingback: Donate to the Underwear Affair AND enter a Giveaway!! | Terry's Blog

Leave a Reply

