MAF Training, and the best Husband out there!

I’ve been back out running for one week now post marathon, and I’m feeling pretty good.  Both Lori and I have decided to do some MAF training post marathon.  What is MAF training?  And why?  I’ll explain both in this post.

First off what is MAF?  MAF is short for Maffetone.  Phil Maffetone is the author and inventor of a method of training based on heart rate.  He discusses it in great length in his book “The Big Book of Endurance Training”.  Basically, he theorizes that if you train in a specific heart rate zone (mine is around 146 bpm) that it will help you become a better fat burning, endurance machine.  The max HR that you determine based on his formula will have you training in an aerobic zone, and will help to build a strong aerobic base.

IMG_4652
My HR was almost too high WALKING out of Fish Creek!

Why are we trying this method out?

  1. Firstly, as I’m recovering from my recent marathon, it will force me to run easy, to let my body recover, and avoid any post marathon injuries.  I think I jumped back into things after the Calgary marathon too quickly, so this will help hold me back.
  2. It will give me lots of numbers to occupy myself with while I run easy.  I love logging and analyzing my running stats, adding HR to that will give me a bunch more numbers to play with.
  3. I’m hoping it will be a great gauge to see my improvement over the next couple of months.  In the last week, as my legs have been recovering from the marathon, I can already see some of my paces creep down at the same HR.
  4. I’m hoping that Maffetone is correct, and that I’ll end up being a faster, more efficient fat burning aerobic machine in a couple months!

Have any of you tried MAF training?  How did it work for you?

I also wanted to post a little brag/thanks to my amazing hubby in this post. I seriously have the best support system ever, and love my family so much.  Without my hubby’s support, it would be much harder for me to work full time, train super hard, and do everything that I do. I know he’s my biggest fan, and I’m so very appreciative of him for that.  We had some friends over for dinner last night, and he ordered the most amazing cake just to show me how proud he is of me.  I’m just so lucky to have his support, and appreciate everything he does for our family.

IMG_4647

14 thoughts on “MAF Training, and the best Husband out there!

      1. To start while base building you stay at that HR for all runs. Your pace should naturally drop as you gain aerobic fitness. My plan is to stick to this HR for a month or two and then reevaluate. If my pace is dropping i will keep at it until my next marathon cycle starts.

      1. Brendan

        I was at about 9:50 first 3 runs now today about 9 I feel like a runner again lol but I won’t rush this week

  1. What a yummy looking cake! I trained by heart rate for tri season and it was really interesting. I found it tough to pull myself back that much as I’m naturally a speed enthusiast. My favourite part was seeing how different my resting HR was after a race and how it changed during recovery, you can pretty much tell by HR when you’re recovered or how hard to push yourself. One thing I didn’t like about HR training was wearing that stupid HR monitor strap around my chest. I’m definitely going to look into an alternative for next season.

  2. Pingback: A #MAFFail in the extreme cold | Terry's Blog

  3. Pingback: SeeyalaterMAF and on to Something New! | Terry's Blog

  4. Pingback: Volume!! | Terry's Blog

  5. Pingback: Running and Heart Rate Training - Cowgirl Runs

  6. Congrats on your BQ finish time! Very impressive and inspiring. I have just recently started to wear a HRM while hiking and sometimes when I run. I have been very curious to learn more and stay injury free. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

