Hemphearts, A Review, and a Giveaway!!

When I was given the opportunity to review hemp hearts, Manitoba Harvest hemp hearts, a few weeks ago, I jumped at the chance. I had tried them before, and knew how tasty they are, and how easy they are to add to my regular food.

For anyone who is as busy as I am, but who also appreciates having whole healthy food options, they are perfect! I try really hard to eat mostly whole foods, and to stay away from overly processed foods, but sometimes it is hard to do everything. For this reason, I have a drawer full of instant oatmeal packages in my desk at work. They are whole grain instant oatmeal packs (is that an oxymoron?). To try to make them healthier and to get more healthy grains in my diet, I like to sprinkle chia seeds on my oatmeal, and now I also have a bag of hemp hearts that I’ve been adding. Not only are the hemp hearts really healthy, but they are so yummy, they add a really nice crunchy, nutty flavor to the oats. Mmmmmm!

IMG_5348

So What are hemp hearts?

They are raw, shelled hemp seeds.

They are also great tasting, with a nutty taste.

They are nutritious, in 30 grams, there are 10 grams of protein and 10 grams of omegas.  In fact they have more protein and omegas, and less carbs than the same serving of chia or flax.

I’ve been eating them regularly on my oatmeal, and they are also great to add to smoothies, salads, or baking.  They are also easy to take with you, I brought my bag with me to Phoenix on vacation just so I’d know that I could add something healthy to my breakfast when I was away.

Want to try some of these yummy super seeds?  I’m giving a bag away!  To enter:

Follow @ManitobaHarvest on Instagram

Follow @ManitobaHarvest on TwitterIMG_5347

Comment below, letting me know that you’ve done both those things.  The contest will be open until Sunday March 8th at midnight MST. (Open to residents of Canada and the US.)

4 thoughts on “Hemphearts, A Review, and a Giveaway!!

  1. Rosie

    I’m following on Twitter (I don’t have instagram, so I also followed Manitoba Harvest on FB, too). I would love to try these!

Leave a Reply

