Windermere Marathon Goals

Well, well, well, where to start. The last week has been a whirlwind, mostly involving checking the forecast.  It all began about 3 weeks ago, when I started looking at the long range forecast, because, that’s what you do when you’re tapering, #amiright? Well at first I saw some higher temps, but brushed them off thinking, meh, it’ll change, what do those weather guys know anyway??

Well the joke is on me!  It did change… it got worse! Ha… The current forecast:

windermere-Fwindermere-C

I’ve included both a metric version, and imperial versions, I’m not sure which one looks worse, ha!  I’m still hoping and praying that it’s not as bad as they say, that this heat front waits a day or two to come in.

I feel like I’ve gone through the 5 Stages of Loss… 1. Denial, 2. Anger, 3. Bargaining, 4. Depression, and 5. Acceptance.  I might still be a little in camp 4, but I’m trying to move on, lol.  Somewhere between stages 3 and 4, we actually considered switching marathons, but that would have been an expensive proposition, and there are no guarantees with any race, so it’s onward and upward to Windermere!

The big question here is how to adjust our goals.  All along the goal has been a 3:38, which not coincidentally is Lori’s BQ time (minus 2 minutes). This is still the A goal, and the plan (at least for the first 1/2 – 3/4 ‘s of the race is to pace for this and hope like hell that we can hang on.

Another question is, do Lori and I have the same goal, and are we running this thing together come hell or high water (or surface of the sun like heat…).  The answer there is no.  We will run our own races, and I’m hoping she finishes ahead of me, mostly because I’m a little doubtful as to whether I can finish in 3:38, especially given the forecast.  We are going to start together though, and run as much as we can together until either the weather, or Lori’s constant babbling (JUST KIDDING!!) gets the most of me 🙂

What are my goals?

  1. (non-time based)  To finish upright, and not need medical intervention! I’m not even joking here, I want to take care of myself, and to make sure I’m hydrating well early on and through the race, and to stay as cool as I can.
  2. A PR.  My last marathon at Okanagan last fall was a 3:42:56, I had the flu, and I’m sure if I had been healthier would have run a bit faster, maybe not a lot, but a bit.  That combined with what has just been the best marathon training cycle I’ve ever had, should, even with the temperatures, provide me with a PR, I think.
  3. Sub 3:40.  This has always been my A goal for this marathon, I’d love a sub 3:40 as it’s a BQ-5 for me, and will allow me to register early, and basically gives me a lock on registration.

I have no idea what to expect, and don’t know how the warm weather will affect me.  It’s so early in the spring, and we’ve had so little warm weather in Calgary so far, that my body isn’t used to running in heat.  I do think that I adapt better than some to heat though, so maybe it won’t be that bad.  I’ve done as many runs as possible in the heat over the last 2 weeks, but there haven’t been many opportunities as it just hasn’t been very warm.  No matter what happens at the race, I’m really looking forward to a fun weekend away, we’re going to enjoy the sun (when we’re not running), drink a few (dozen) beers, eat some good food, and relax!

I’ll catch you on the flipside, and let you know how it all went down!  Feel free to give me a follow on Instagram if you want to see the latest update!

9 thoughts on “Windermere Marathon Goals

  1. Alison

    So excited for you and Lori, Terri. Your training has been amazing! I will be cheering you on, virtually off course!

  2. Pingback: Windermere Marathon Race Report aka Running on the Surface of the Sun… | Terry's Blog

Leave a Reply

