2016, taking risks, being prepared for failure

In my running and my life I like to be in control, I like to plan things, and to know what is over the horizon.  I don’t enjoy surprises (don’t ever plan a surprise party for me, k?)  This translates to my running life as well, and for the most part it’s a good thing.  I pick races that I know I can finish, goals that are attainable.  I think this is fairly normal, we all like to succeed, to feel good about our accomplishments, failure sucks and makes us feel bad, so we avoid it at all costs.

I’ve been thinking about this more and more, and this TS Elliot quote really struck me.

11059863_602738466530986_7164543702397418835_n

By taking the safe, predictable path, am I selling myself short?

I was also listening to a podcast just before Christmas from Trail Runner Nation, Fear of Failure, with Dr. Jim Taylor.  With the expansion of the world with the internet and social media, our lives and our success or failures are put out there into the world for everyone to judge.  The question is failure really that bad?  Is it better to not try, and to not fail?  Failure is important, it is a stepping stone on our way to our successes in life.  They also talk about people who pick goals, or make excuses that guarantee failure.

So we’re balancing a thin line here, picking goals that risk failure, but not picking things so far out there that they aren’t attainable, or where we’ll have to bring out our book of excuses for why we can’t succeed.

All this is to explain my thought process in picking my big goal for 2016.  I’ve been mulling over this one for a couple months, and registration opened this weekend, so it was time to step up to the plate.  If you follow me on Instagram or Facebook, you already know where this is going… I’ve registered for the Lost Soul Ultra 100 km race in September.  I feel like this is a huge jump for me this year, the furthest race I’ve run is 50k, so I’m doubling that (YIKES).  This scares me!

So my goal this year was to risk failure. This definitely qualifies. Lost Soul 100k. 😁😁😁

A post shared by Terry Toffelmire (@terryruns) on

This big goal in September is going to shape my year of running.  Here is what I’m tentatively thinking:

May: Calgary Marathon (hoping for another BQ attempt, and a time fast enough to get into Boston).

July: Powderface trail Marathon (I’m already registered for this one, and am super excited!)

August: Iron Legs 60 km trail race (This will be a training run for the most part.  It’s a hard mountain trail race, and will make a good long run for the 100k)

September: Lost Soul 100 km.

I’m sure I’ll sprinkle some other races in there as they fit with my schedule (and my family’s schedule), but these are the big ones.

Give me a shout out if you’re going to be at any of these races!  I’d love to say high, or even run a few km’s with you!

6 thoughts on “2016, taking risks, being prepared for failure

  1. LOVING your list of races for 2016. And damn – 100 km – rock on, sister. Your TS Eliot quote is spot on. So exciting! I’m going to take a listen to that podcast you noted. Thank you for the link.

  2. Pingback: More on Lost Soul - Running with Rhyno

  3. Pingback: 2017 Goals – Terry's Blog

Leave a Reply

