2017 Goals

A year ago I posted that 2016 was going to be a year for risk taking, and setting big goals.  My big goal was to run the Lost Soul 100k.  I was really nervous going into it, but it turned out really well, and I am really glad that I decided to push myself past my comfort zone and into the longer distance.  I want 2017 to be another year of going past my comfort zone, but in a different way.

In 2016 I ran new races, longer races, and more trails and elevation than ever before.  In 2017, I want to push myself, but in different ways.  I finished many a race in 2016 feeling good, feeling comfortable.  The exception of course is the Calgary Marathon, I was definitely NOT comfortable at the finish, and that’s awesome, I’m really proud of how hard I pushed, and the BQ that it earned me.

My goal in 2017 is to push the pace.  Not in every race, because I think that could leave me injured, or burnt out, and won’t lead to the best results in key races.  I’ve picked two races where I think I can improve my time, and am excited to see how I do.  Here’s my race plan (so far) for 2017:

January – March: Boston Marathon training.  It’s shaping up to be a brutal winter.  I’m hoping to get some time on the trails to break things up, and some cross country skiing in, but the bulk of my running will be road running for Boston, which is actually going to turn into base building for the summer.

April 17th: Boston Marathon.  The race plan for Boston is to have fun and enjoy the experience.  Neither Lori or I want to add stress to this trip by setting pace or time goals.  I also want to do some trail running in NH before the marathon, so the race will be a fun time to high five spectators, drink beer, and soak in the experience.

May 6th: Run for Braggin’ Rights.  This is a local, self supported Fat Ass style 100k race.  I’m not committing to running 100k as it’s pretty early in the year, and 100k is still a really long ways.  I’m hoping to run two loops, which should be around 68 km’s.

May 28th: Calgary Marathon.  I’d like to be involved in this race in some fashion, but don’t know how yet (other than heckling the crazy 150k runners).  I might sign up to pace the marathon if they need people.

July 1st: Powderface Marathon.  This is goal race #1.  I ran it in 6:24 last year, I don’t know how much time I can take off, but I know I can run it faster.  I will look more specifically at a goal as the race gets closer, but I’d like to feel like I’m pushing my effort during the race, letting my HR get above aerobic.

August: TBD.  Lori and I are going to pick a 50-60k type distance race to use as a training run for LSU.  We just have to pick a race!

September 8th: Lost Soul Ultra 100k.  This is my A race this year and second goal race.  If I go into it healthy and things go well during the race, I think I’ve got at least 90 minutes I can shave off.  Maybe more.  I’m going to push myself a little harder, and run my own race, I love the social aspect of running races with Lori (and Rob), but I want to challenge myself to see what I can do.  It might end up that Lori and I run it together, but if one of us is struggling, or needs extra time in an AS, then so be it.

October – December: OFF SEASON/Recover.  My hubby wants to run his first 50k next fall, so I’ll be at his race supporting him.  I’ll treat the fall much like I did this year, and if I feel good, I’ll jump into a race, but won’t have any pressure to run anything if my body needs more rest.

On Goals/Resolutions.  Other than the goal races above, I don’t like to set specific goals at the beginning of the year.  My main goal is to run happy and healthy all year long.  If that means running a bit less some weeks or months, then I don’t want that to contribute to failing at an arbitrary mileage goal.  I want to stay on top of niggles and tight spots, getting chiro treatments or massages as required.  I also want to stay strong and keep up my strength training a couple times a week.

2 thoughts on “2017 Goals

  1. I LOVE your run happy and healthy goal. More than any of your other goals, I hope you achieve that one. Why? Because all those races can be done next year or another time. Happy and healthy can only happen day by day, and once done nobody can take it from you.

Leave a Reply

